Log in
  • Home
  • Scholarships and Awards

Scholarships & Awards 
Within this section you will find opportunities that have been made available to students wishing to apply. For each of the scholarships and awards listed, you will find a PDF application form that you can fill out electronically or print.

Norman W. Kramer Scholar Award

Norman Kramer was the Golf Course Superintendent of Point O' Woods Country Club in Benton Harbor , Michigan from 1959 to 1971. Prior to this he was Vice President of the Midwest Association of Golf Course Superintendents. In Michigan he served as Director, Vice President and President of the Western Michigan GCSA and Michigan GCSA. He was also a Past President of the Midwest Regional Turf Foundation at Purdue University . At the time of his death, he was serving as a Director of the Michigan Turfgrass Foundation. Mr. Kramer was active in promoting the scholarship programs at Michigan State University and believed strongly in the youth of America . This award is dedicated to the memory of Norm Kramer. 

Robert Hancock Award
Robert Hancock, from Jackson , Michigan , was owner and President of Hancock Industries. He was an avid golfer and served on the Greens Committee at Jackson Country Club. In the late 60's, he became involved in golf turf programs and realized the need for research money in this field. At his death in the late 70's, a portion of his estate was reserved for the financing of the proposed turfgrass Research Center at MSU. In 1979 the construction began and in 1981 the Robert Hancock Turfgrass Research Center was opened. The HTRC is a first class research and education facility used not only by students and faculty but by the industry as well. 

Kenyon Payne Award
Kenyon T. Payne was Chairperson of the Department of Crop Science until 1969 when he took over the Two Year Ag. Tech Program for Golf Turfgrass Management. While there he worked with Professor Beard to get the program on solid ground. Approximately 800 students have graduated under Dr. Payne's leadership. He was an avid supporter of excellent golf turf and did work on breeding Red Fescue resistance to Leaf Spot disease. Dr. Payne also served as treasurer of the Michigan Turfgrass Foundation for a number of years and was very well known in the University and in the industry nationwide. In his honor, what was the Outstanding Student Award, was renamed the Kenyon T. Payne Outstanding Student Award. 

Sports and Commercial Turf Award
In 1987, MSU and the MTF recognized the importance of the lawn care industry in Michigan and the benefits of increasing its number of well-educated turf managers. To this end, Mr. Walter Wilkie, owner of the Toro Distributor in Pontiac and the Bare Foot Lawn franchises in Michigan, funded the startup of the Lawn Care Management Program in MSU's Institute of Agricultural Technology. A similar need by the sports turf industry was recognized in 1992 when its name was changed to the Lawn Care/Athletic Turf Program and then again in 1997 when it became the Sports and Commercial Turf Management Program. Recognized nationally as the only one of its kind, the program continues to graduate outstanding students, many of whom have gone on to become well known and successful leaders in their respective industries. 

Michigan Turfgrass Foundation Scholarship Award Selection Process

The Scholarship Application can be submitted electronically at the bottom of this page and is also available at the Plant and Soil Sciences Building.

Applications for the Michigan Turfgrass Awards must be electronically submitted below or typewritten and submitted no later than December 5th, 2019. 

Application will include application form, cover letter, resume, scholarship questionnaire answers, and letters of recommendation. If you are submitting the application electronically, you must attach your resume, cover letter, and letters of recommendation at top of the electronic form below no later than December 5th, 2019.

A schedule will be posted in the Plant & Soil Science Building providing exact location, time, and date of interviews. Student is responsible for time and date. Any changes must be made in advance of interviews. 

Applicant interviews will take place December 2019 TBD.

Awards will be presented at the 90th Michigan Turfgrass Conference being held January 7-9 2020, at the Kellogg Conference Center in East Lansing, MI.

Previous winners are not eligible to reapply for the same award.

Mail, drop off, or pick up applications at:

Michigan State University
Department of Crop & Soil Sciences
Plant & Soil Science Building – Room 286
East Lansing, MI 48824

For questions regarding the awards, please contact:
Dan Lucas, MTF BOD

Michigan Turfgrass Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. P.O. Box 27156, Lansing, MI 48909

The Michigan Turfgrass Foundation exists to promote safe, healthy turf surfaces for all Michigan residents.

Call or E mail Us

Office: +1 517 392 5003

E Mail miturfgrass@gmail.com


PO BOX 27156


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software